Stethoscope and medical data

ICD-10 diagnosis coding: Patient Driven Payment Model (PDPM) Non-Therapy Ancillary (NTA) component education to prepare you

Two-part webinar series for skilled nursing facilities

The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid (CMS) will implement the PDPM reimbursement system for Fee For Service Medicare beneficiaries on Oct. 1, 2019. 

The ICD-10 diagnosis coding is a significant part of the Non-Therapy Ancillary (NTA) component of the PDPM reimbursement system. Providers will be required to know the clinical diagnoses that impact the care of the residents in the facility and the ICD-10 codes for these diagnoses. The diagnoses are included in the MDS assessment section I and are a component of the PDPM that will assist providers to achieve accurate reimbursement. ICD-10 diagnosis coding is not a simple process but with education team members will be able to competently and confidently complete the ICD-10 diagnosis coding.

These webinars were designed to provide assistance and information for the interdisciplinary team members related to ICD-10 diagnosis coding. This series assists team members to determine codes, find the codes, know exclusions and the number of digits in which to expand the code.

Learning objectives

For more information on this topic, or to learn how Baker Tilly healthcare specialists can help, contact our team.

Next up

Understanding privacy regulations and compliance